E-SI (Santo Domingo de Silos) MS 4


Liber ordinum, i.e. book containing the material necessary for administering sacraments and votive rituals, as well as prayers and blessings for a variety of special objects and occasions. The type of ordinum of this manuscript is "maior vel aepiscopalis", i.e. "major or for a bishop". This liber ordinum maior has three parts. It includes a calendar (ff. 1r-3v, not ff. 1r-6v, as stated by Vives and Fábrega, 1949, because they describe by mistake E-SI MS 3 as E-SI MS 4, and by Janini, 1977, and González Barrionuevo, 1992, very likely following Vives and Fábrega); an index for the material included in the rest of the manuscript (ff. 4r-8v); and two main sections, a first section with the liturgical material for ministering sacraments and special rituals of Holy Week (ff. 9r-165v), and a second section with a collection of votive masses (ff. 166r-344v).

Date: 18 May 1052 (f. 332r: "ERA TLXLA XV K[a]L[endas] I[unia]s").

Origin: depending on the interpretation of the colophon (in ff. 331v-332r: "exaratum est hunc ordinem libru[m] per Iussione[m] dom[i]no d[omi]nicus presb[yt]er qui et abba ex cenobio s[an]c[t]i prudentii amminiculante [sic, it should be "adminiculante"] santio garzeiz de monte albos"...] different authors have ascribed it to either the monastery of San Prudencio Laturce in La Rioja, or to the monastery of San Martín of Albelda in Huesca.

Scribe: presbyter Bartholomeus, according to colophon "Ego bartolom[eu]s licet indign[u]s pr[e]sb[y]ter" (f. 331v).

Liturgical tradition: A.

Randel responsorial tone melodic tradition: La Rioja, but "not entirely free of León symptoms", according to Randel, 1969, p. 67.

MS 4
Source type: 
Monastery of San Prudencio Laturce (Logroño) or Albelda, probably the monastery of San Martín (see "Description" above)
Manuscript / Print: 
Page layout (mm): 
295 x 218
Bibliography and description to be completed
18 May 1052
Indexed by: 

Raquel Rojo Carrillo


Asensio, 2003
Brockett, 1968
Clark, 1920
Díaz y Díaz, 1983 and 1991
Fernández de la Cuesta, 1980 and 1983
Férotin, 1904 and 1912
García Villada, 1923
González Barrionuevo, 1991 and 1992
Gros, 1978
Janini, 1976, 1977, 1981 and 1990
Millares Carlo, 1961 and 1999
Pinell, 1965 and 1998
Prado, 1928
Randel, 1969 and 1973
Rojo and Prado, 1929
Vivancos, 2006
Whitehill and Pérez de Urbel, 1930
Zapke, 1995 and 1997

Submitted by Raquel Rojo Carrillo
Post date: 08 Feb 2018 | Last update: 08 Feb 2018